Tufford Crushes Zone XC Running Field

Brandon Tufford (left) and Brice Wilkes (right) went 1-2 in the Senior Mens 6000m at the 2017 ASAA NW Zone XC Running Championships

GP Composite High School runner Brandon Tufford turned in a run for the ages on Wednesday at the 2017 ASAA NW Zone XC Running Championships in Muskoseepi Park.

Tufford, who had a pair of 4th place finishes at last spring’s ASAA Provincial High School Track Championships, led from gun to tape in the Senior Men’s 6000m race.  He stopped the clock in 20:08, two minutes ahead of second place runner Brice Wilkes of Peace River.

Beaverlodge Regional High School athlete Kobe Grocholski was almost as dominant in the Junior Men’s 4000m.  Grocholski won his race by 53 seconds, recording a time of 13:48.

Other local winners included

Jacob Farnsworth   Harry Balfour    Junior Boys  3000m

Nolan Roberts   Charles Spencer   Intermediate Boys  4000m

Dayle Ross   Spirit River Academy   Senior Girls  2000m

Jordan Lundstrom  Peace Wapiti Academy  Intermediate Mens  5000m

Peace Wapiti Academy was the top team in the Senior High competition.  Hythe Junior High School topped the standings in the Junior High race.

The top athletes in the Senior High races qualified for the ASAA Provincial XC Running Championships in Edmonton on Saturday, October 21.

Full results are posted here


This entry was posted in Cross Country and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s