Locals Shine at Bezanson Bog

Junior Elm Boys line up for the start of the 2017 Bezanson Bog

Over 150 runners of all ages and abilities converged on the Old Bezanson Townsite on Saturday for the 8th running of the Bezanson Bog XC Running Races.

The featured 5 km distance saw a competitive four-way battle for the win involving Wolves alumnus Hayden Hollowell and three local high schoolers.  Hollowell managed to gap the field in the final 400m and cruised to victory in a time of 18:52, 2 seconds better than runner up Jordan Lundstrom from Peace Wapiti Academy.  Peace Country Wolves Athletics Club runners Kobe Grocholski and Chris Neilssen placed third and fourth, respectively.

Other category winners included:

Jr Elm Boys     Tyce Mueller   RWZ

Jr Elm Girls    Isabelle McFaw    RWZ

Sr Elm Boys    Myron Brown  RWz

Sr Elm Girls    Tess Dziaduck  BEZ

Jr H Boys    Jacob Farnsworth   WAC

Jr H Girls        Mairen Lawson    St Joes

Sr H Girls       Lydia Steinke    PWA

Open Women    Megan Hopkins   Wolves

Masters Women    Marlene Corcoran  WAC

Masters Men     Carl Lawson   GP

The Bog was race #2 in the 2017 Wolves XC Running Series.  Race #3, the Steve Burgess Memorial, takes place next Saturday at the Wapiti Nordic Ski Trails.

Full results are posted here 17BezBogResults

This entry was posted in Cross Country and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s