Local Runners Dominate Zone XC Running Champions

Mairen Lawson - 2015 NW Zone Junior Girls XC Running Champion

Mairen Lawson – 2015 NW Zone Junior Girls XC Running Champion

Wolves Athletics Club athletes produced six wins at the 2015 ASAA NW Zone Cross Country Running Championships in Rocky Lane on Wednesday.

Beaverlodge’s Kailey Bratland and Eaglesham’s Brittany Duval went 1-2 in the Senior Women’s (Grade 12) 4 km race.  In addition, Eric Nooy from the Spirit River Regional Academy raced to a commanding 3 minute victory in the Intermediate Men’s (Grade 11) 5 km run.

Other local winners included Grande Cache’s Lee Gillet in the Senior Men’s (Grade 12) 6 km , GP Comp’s Brandon Tufford in the Junior Men’s (Grade 10) 4 km, and IV Macklin’s Mairen Lawson in the Junior Girls (Grade 7) 3 km, and Dario Staples in the Junior Boys 3 km.Parker Gades from Spirit River placed fourth in the Junior Men’s race.

For high school athletes, the NW Zone Championships served as a qualifier for next week’s ASAA Provincial High School Cross Country Running Championship.  Provincials will take place at the Wapiti Nordic Trails in Grande Prairie on October 17.

Full results from Zones – 15ZonesXCResults


This entry was posted in Cross Country and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s